top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Nestingen

Sophisticated Home Office | Week 03

We’ve hit the midpoint of the One Room Challenge and I’m excited that I finally have a room to show you progress on. Last weekend I got some help from my husband in clearing out the room so I could put in some new carpet tile to make this basement office a little cozier. I found the carpet tile for $1 per tile and each tile is 2’ x 2’ so that works out to the amazing price of $0.25/sf!



I installed the carpet tile directly over the clean painted cement floor with double sided carpet tape and the help of a carpenter’s square to keep all the lines straight. We removed the toe molding on the baseboard and left a small gap between the baseboard and carpet which will be covered when the toe molding is reinstalled.




I was also able to find a gently used and neutral sofa sleeper for this room on Facebook marketplace last weekend. We borrowed our neighbor’s truck to pick it up and my husband and I managed to move that sucker into the basement while our kids learned some new words to add into their vocabulary. It fit but not without taking the door off the hinges to gain valuable inches for maneuvering.


This upcoming weekend the plan is to tackle the desk construnction with a wood wall treatment, wall cabinets, and shelves for a more customized look and maybe another small DIY furniture project. I’m both nervous and excited to see how this comes together but it’s already a big improvement from the cement floors.



33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page