top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Nestingen

Sophisticated Home Office | Week 02

It's week 2 of the Fall 2020 One Room Challenge and I feel like I've definitely fallen behind because I have yet to pick up a tool or paintbrush. I'm firmly in that analysis paralysis stage which I find myself in way too often. Initially, I was really excited about the potential idea of replacing our dropped tile ceiling and installing a slatted wood ceiling but my hopes were squashed when I did a little investigating above the tile ceiling to find a lot of HVAC and pipes running below our joists (cue the sad trombone sound).


I've decided to pivot and do a slatted wood feature wall behind the desk area instead which should be easier to install and save me from weeks of neck cramps from working on a ceiling. And speaking of pivoting, I'm pivoting our current desk configuration to the other side of the room along the shorter wall. This gives us the option to have some flexibility with this room layout and use it as a guest bedroom if needed. Here are some simple floor plans of how we could have this room pull double duty as an office/guest room by pivoting the desk location and getting a sofa sleeper.


The hope is to find a nice sofa sleeper, side tables, and a coffee table to work on the left side of the room but I'm trying to keep this room budget-friendly so I'm going to try to source stuff second hand and use some DIY skills to add a photo ledge on the wall for added interest. The desk area will also get some DIY attention to make it look a bit more custom. Here are some inspriration photos I found that give a better visual.



For the desk area, I wanted to somewhat merge the two inspiration images above so I spent a little time mocking up what I'm invisioning before moving forward and I'm really excited about actually getting going now that I've got a better roadmap to where I'm headed.



Wish me luck it's time to get moving on the first step...some furniture moving and carpet tile installation. See you in week 3!



42 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page