top of page
  • Writer's pictureRebecca Nestingen

Floral Dynasty Bathroom | Week 02

Hello again One Room Challenge followers! We left of last week sharing some inspiration for my friend Robin's powder bathroom remodel and today I'm sharing our narrowed down design in a mood board.


When Robin and I sat down and discussed the inspiration images we found on Pinterest there was one in particular that she was drawn to:



She loved it all. The dark green wainscoting, the shelf above the toilet and the stunning wallpaper so off I went down the google abyss to find some similarly stunning wallpaper.

(And for anyone curious the wallpaper in the inspiration image is Cuba Jungle from Rebel Walls).


Pulling inspiration from other artwork around the house that had some Asian influence helped narrow down my search and we found a few amazing contenders:



I think any of these options could have been really fun to design around but I was so excited when I sent Robin a link to the Floral Dynasty Wallpaper and she responded that she loved it since it was my strong favorite! We had found a clear winner winner chicken dinner! Next we had to bring it together with other room elements/accessories into a mood board.


For all the wanna-be-designers like me out there, here's a super simple way to bring together design elements into a visual mood board or mock-up: Google Slides and the website remove.bg. It's as simple as finding images of potential products, removing the backgrounds from product images, and pasting/arranging them onto a blank google slide until your happy with the result. You can make endless copies of your slides as you swap out products as your design evolves which is half of the fun. Absolutely no Photoshop experience is necessary and you're in good company seeing as it's the method used by staff at one of the most popular interior design blogs (I was using this method long before that blog post but it did make me feel validated and like less of a hack). Our mood board ended up looking like this after finding some brass accessories and looking at loads of paint swatches.


That's all for now....next week I'm going to cover some more of the nerdy design stuff, like our proposed schedule (yay Gantt chart), what's getting updated or staying, elevation drawings and Robin's creative method for visualizing a product and plan layout.






61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page